Holidays and Birthdays: It’s who you’re with, not what you’re doing.

2 Jan

Not only do I get a New Year, but I get a Birthday at the same time, just about.

Today is my 29th birthday..eek!  So this is what it feels like to be at the top of your twenties!  Hmm, feels good I think!  I’ve always said that I look forward to my thirties so I guess things just keep getting better. 

I’ve spent many birthdays abroad, mostly because it falls in the middle of any winter break from school.  I think celebrating abroad really gives a chance to put things in perspective.  As with any holiday really, I believe it’s about who you are with, not what you are doing.  You can put people in any situation in any location and if they are in good company that’s what turns it into a good time.  There are some Debbie Downers out there, but who wants to read about them?!

Eventhough I celebrated this 29th birthday at home in D-town I was surrounded with people whom I love and that’s what made my birthday great! 

Oh, and PS:  We had home made Indian food for my dinner!  So I did end up throwing a little culture in to spice things up!  HA!

Em

2 Responses to “Holidays and Birthdays: It’s who you’re with, not what you’re doing.”

  1. Michael O'Connor January 4, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Very nice blog… I like your writing style it’s fun to read! I really like your newest blog about your birthday and new years because it REALLY does just matter who your with.

  2. emmyla January 5, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Thanks Michael,
    I’m glad you like it! Keep checking back for more posts 🙂

    Em

Leave a Reply

