Ever felt like you’re not clear on the direction of your life?!

5 Jan

It’s amazing to go through the emotions of what to do with your life. 

It’s such an important topic and one that I think gets very little attention sometimes.  Sure, if you want to be a doctor, a lawyer or an aerospace engineer things are pretty clear.  You go to school, get your degree and your credentials and you enter the field that you spent the last 5-10 years studying.  Pretty simple, huh?

But what if you don’t want to be a doctor or a lawyer?  What if your gifts are a little more abstract, a little less tangible, a little more creative, a little less structured?  Then what?  There isn’t a school or an institution that really gives you the answers to that, it’s up to you.  It’s called self discovery and it can be a bitch!  The emphasis is on the “self” part because you have to figure it out for yourself and by yourself.

I feel like that’s all I’ve been doing for the last decade and I’m exhausted!  There are things I’m good at, there are things I excel at, but I don’t want to settle for anything less than phenomenal in my life!  When the stakes are that high, it takes a little more thought and strategy.  I usually get stuck on making sure that I’m doing the right thing that will support my end goal, but the stress that brings is tough to muster through sometimes. 

Needless to say, I’m at a crossroads right now.  I’ve had emotionless jobs, egocentric bosses, started businesses, supported people in growing their businesses, been unemployed – thanks Obama bucks, single, engaged, single again, gotten a degree, and as of now, don’t have much to show for it.  That’s a pretty low feeling if I let it be, but I would say that I am practicing my way to success, not failing.

On the flip side, how many times have you heard the story of the guy who made a million dollars, lost it, and made it again 5 times in a row?!  All he did is get back up and do it over!  Sounds easy, but you really have to be focused and driven.  I have learned that even when you find an easy solution to seeming difficult problem you can’t stop there, you have to keep digging and stay on track for your end goal.  It’s easy to get distracted by “shiny objects” like a position for a cause that you believe in but doesn’t pay, or a great salary doing something you hate.  If you do have to temporarily do something that is uncomfortable because it aids in your end goal then ther is nothing negative about that.  The key is focus and intention, as in, don’t lose those two while you have to side track a bit.  A great man once said, “there is no such thing as excuses or reasons, there are only priorities.”  I’m pretty sure the 5 time over millionaire was very clear on his priorities.

At this crossroad in my life I have begun to become more clear on my priorities and that is what makes the rest of the picture clear for me too.  No matter what I have to do to get to my end goal, I at least know what it is and that is comforting.

Em

One Response to “Ever felt like you’re not clear on the direction of your life?!”

  1. mikesmotivation101 January 5, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I feel you on the corssroads analogy… Its great you can speak about it because lots of people will keep those kind of emtions in. Your on your way to fufilling your purpose though. Writing definitly seems like its your gift…Just keep Grindin!!

Leave a Reply

