Chasing Summer…

8 Dec

I have been chasing summer since I can remember.  Now, I feel like I’m finally catching it.

Born in the damp, cold or hot, humid mid west and raised in the mountain desert, mile high city I have had my fair share of snow, cold and winter.  I can honestly say that I think the feeling of being cold is one of the most uncomfortable feelings in the world.  You shiver, get goosebumps, cramp muscles when you’re hunched up trying to keep warm and numb ears, noses and fingers if you’re not careful.  It’s nothing to mess with, really.

Summer, on the other hand, is so delicious and yummy.  There are so many things to do in the summer and we are more social when the weather is warm.  Think of all the festivals, concerts in the park, picnics, pool parties, boating and beach bikini days that happen in the summer.  It’s the sexiest season by far.  Think of the warm sun kissing your skin and the cool breeze blowing your hair.  These are the moments that I live for!

I started realizing that these moments were always cut short by the Autumn where I came from.  I knew I was ready for a change and it was going to move me to the forever summer.  I remember being out on the ocean one day and thinking to myself, “there is no reason that I shouldn’t wake up and see this every morning.”

Well, I’ve made it to the ocean.   I have unexpectedly moved to Miami.  I’m not sure if this is where I’ll stay, but as I sit here writing in my tank top, shorts and sandals I’m thinking it’s a good place to be until I figure that out.

Cheers.

One Response to “Chasing Summer…”

  1. Katie Bales December 10, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Baaa Humbug- you have to freeze your patoot to have a good holiday season! And kleenex may go out of business if everyone lived in the summer sunshine.

Leave a Reply

